miart 2024: the 28th edition ends

miart 2024: the 28th edition ends


12 - 14 April 2024

Allianz MiCo - Milan


miart, the international modern and contemporary art fair organised by Fiera Milano, successfully marked a positive trend by expanding the thematic, spatial and temporal boundaries of the event, as the title of this 28th edition suggested.


Building on the theme of ‘no time no space’, the event was projected into the future and saw significant successes: excellent sales, an increase in the presence of national and international collectors, journalists and a huge number of visitors.


The Fondazione Fiera Milano Acquisition Fund selected works from Maximilian Arnold, Sam Bakewell, Anna Boghiguian, Andrea Buttner, Francesco De Bernardi, Louis Fratino, Giorgia Garzilli, Hervé Guibert, Rodrigo Hernàndez, Franca Maranò, Walter Pfeiffer, Megan Plunkett, Wolfgang Tillmans, Wladimiro Tulli and Urban Zellweger.


Appointment for the twenty-ninth edition from 4 to 6 April 2025.


Milan, 14 April 2024 – The 28th edition of miart, the international modern and contemporary art fair organised by Fiera Milano and directed for the fourth year by Nicola Ricciardi, closed today.


Featuring 178 galleries from 28 countries, more than 1,000 exhibited works by modern masters and contemporary artists, 10 awards including prizes, acquisition funds and new commissions, and numerous international museum directors among the panel of judges, the 2024 edition was evidence that the exhibition has become a must-attend event for the Italian and international art world.


From the moment it opened and throughout its duration, the fair was characterised by a remarkable vibrancy, with an increase in the presence of international VIPs, including collectors, art consultants, curators and directors of private foundations, and Italian and foreign museums, an increase in Italian and international press coverage, and a significant increase in public visitors – from the merely curious to dedicated enthusiasts.


Within each section there were as many museum works as there were works commissioned for the edition. There was no shortage of solo and group exhibitions, and modern art, the historic backbone of the Milan exhibition, was well represented with fine exhibitions.


The 2024 edition stood out for the quality of the works exhibited, the curatorial research, but above all for the exhibition's ability to forge new collaborations and to encourage unprecedented participation in art projects at the exhibition and in the city, helping to make its thematic boundaries even broader and more accessible.


The event was further boosted by miartalks, the programme of meetings and conversations made possible this year by an unprecedented partnership with Starbucks Reserve™ Roastery Milan. During the three days, the miartalks lounge was open to the public, with representatives from some of the most prestigious national and international art institutions alternating with figures from the worlds of music, architecture and design, while three meetings at the Starbucks Reserve™ Roastery Milan further added to the programme.


In this edition, no fewer than 10 prizes and commissions were awarded to galleries and artists, thanks to the work of prestigious juries of international curators and museum directors who decided on the winners: each award underlined how active each Partner is in supporting arts and culture.


The Fondazione Fiera Milano Acquisition Fund selected 15 works. The President of the Fondazione Fiera Milano, Enrico Pazzali, was assisted in his choice by a jury composed of Diana Bracco (Chairperson of the jury and a member of Fondazione Fiera Milano's Executive Committee, Milan), Simon Castets (Director, Strategic Initiatives, LUMA, Arles), Nicolas Trembley (Director, SYZ Collection, Geneva) and Moritz Wesseler (Director, Fridericianum, Kassel) who selected the following works, worth approximately €100,000, for purchase this year:

-        Maximilian Arnold, Untitled, 2024 (MATTA, Milan);

-        Sam Bakewell, Drift Study, 2022 (Corvi-Mora, London);

-        Anna Boghiguian, Flying bird, 2023 (Galleria Franco Noero, Turin);

-        Andrea Buttner, Asparagus Harvest 1, 2021 (Galerie Tschudi, Zuoz – Zurich);

-        Francesco De Bernardi, (Pensavo) sulla Bergère, 2024 (Triangolo, Cremona);

-        Louis Fratino, Small self portrait, 2024 (Galerie Neu, Berlin);

-        Giorgia Garzilli, Senza lesinarci i commenti più seducenti, 2024 (zaza', Milan – Naples);

-        Hervé Guibert, Musée Grévin, Paris, 1978 (FELIX GAUDLITZ, Vienna);

-        Rodrigo Hernàndez, With what eyes #3, 2023 (Madragoa, Lisbon);

-        Franca Maranò, Untitled, 1976 (Richard Saltoun Gallery, London – Rome);

-        Walter Pfeiffer, Untitled, 1974/2019 (Galerie Gregor Staiger, Zurigo – Milan);

-        Megan Plunkett, Handy Man (Big), 2023 (Sweetwater, Berlin);

-        Wolfgang Tillmans, Jodie in my kitchen, 2023 (Galerie Buchholz, Cologne - Berlin - New York);

-        Wladimiro Tulli, Trinità Aerea, 1939 (Bottegantica, Milan);

-        Urban Zellweger, Untitled, 2023 (Lodovico Corsini, Brussels).


Thanks to these latest acquisitions, the number of works housed in the Palazzina degli Orafi and available for view here has risen to over 120.


Nine other prizes and commissions were awarded: The Herno Award for the best installation went jointly to Galerie Buchholz (Cologne - Berlin - New York) and ChertLüdde (Berlin), both in the Established section; The LCA Studio Legale Award in the Emergent  section went to the Roland Ross gallery (Margate); The Henraux Sculpture Commission for the creation of a work in marble went to Anna Boghiguian on the Galleria Franco Noero stand (Turin) in the Portal section; The Orbital Cultura Award - Nexi Group commissioned a photographic documentation work from Guido Guidi at miart with Viasaterna (Milan) in the Established section; The Matteo Visconti di Modrone Award went to Luca Monterastelli at miart with the gallery Lia Rumma (Milan - Naples) in the Established section; The SZ Sugar miart commission selected the work of David Lieske represented by Corvi-Mora (London); The Residenza 725 Award went to the gallery ChertLüdde (Berlin) in the Portal section; The Milan Brera Rotary Club Award for Contemporary Art and Young Artists acquired Benjamin Jones' work at miart with LOOM Gallery (Milan) in the Established section; The Massimo Giorgetti Award chose to support Isabella Costabile at miart with Andrew Kreps Gallery (New York) in the Established section.



miart awaits you for its 29th edition from 4 to 6 April 2025, with VIP preview on Thursday 3 April 2025.



miart Press Office:

Lara Facco: T +39 02 3656 5133 / M. +39 349 2529 989 / E.lara@larafacco.com

Denise Solenghi: M. +39 333 3086921 / E. denise@larafacco.com

Marta Zanichelli: M. +39 339 2816693 / E. martazanichelli@larafacco.com


Fiera Milano Press Office:

Rosy Mazzanti: T +39 02499 77324 / rosy.mazzanti@fieramilano.it

Elena Brambilla: T +39 02499 77939 / elena.brambilla@fieramilano.it


miart 2024

Allianz MiCo, Hall 3

viale Scarampo, Milan